Arun Kumar Gupta becomes new DGP of UP

ips arun kumar gupta, arun kumar gupta DGP, DGP of UP, UP DGP, DGP of Uttar Pradesh
Lucknow : Uttar Pradesh Police Recruitment Board's chairman Arun Kumar Gupta has been appointed the new Director-General of Police (DGP) of the State. His appointment was cleared by Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav on Thursday. Mr. Gupta succeeds Anand Lal Banerjee who retired on Wednesday.

Mr. Gupta, 1977 batch IPS officer, is due to retire on January 31, 2015 and will hold the office of DG Police for a month. He can stay in office only if the Government decides to grant him extension after his retirement.

His appointment followed hectic lobbying by contenders for the post. It was widely speculated that ADG (Crime Branch- CID) Jagmohan Yadav, considered close to the ruling family, would be the next DGP. 

He was made ADG (Law and Order) after the Samajwadi Party came to power in 2012, but was removed after some time. The other names making the rounds were that of DG (Fire Services) Praveen Singh and the ADG in Police Headquarters at Allahabad, Surya Kumar.

Mr. Yadav’s elevation was considered certain after seven IPS officers of the 1982 and 1983 of ADG rank were promoted to the rank of Director -General following the Departmental Promotion Committee (DPC) meeting on Wednesday. The seven officers promoted to DG rank are Surya Kumar, Rajiv Rai Bhatnagar, Gopal Gupta, Om Prakash Singh, Ram Narain Singh, Jagmohan Yadav and K.L.Meena. 

Seventeen other IPS officers of the 1990 batch were promoted to the rank of Additional Director-General of Police (ADGP). After Mr Gupta, AK Jain is the next officer in terms of seniority in the State.

Get all updates by Like us on Facebook and Follow on Twitter

Powered by Blogger.